EN
|
Indie-Cat

Indie-Cat, an attractive shop on rue Leschot in Geneva, gives you the illusion of being teleported to London.

You’ll feel close to Betty Boop, a rockier version, immersed in the house of a beautiful burlesque pin-up. Camille, a charming artisan with an artist’s soul, created her inner world. Trained as a fashion designer, she first launched a clothing line for men in Paris, but it didn’t really work out (a story for a FuckUp Nights?). She then came to Geneva and started a collection for women and children. By the end of 2008, the Indie-Cat brand was born. The young woman draws up the sketches and has them manufactured by a French manufacturer or, more recently, by the SOS Femmes association.

Giving birth to twins inspired her to launch a collection for little ones, but also made her work more strenuous so she decided to start making jewellery: fancy rings and earrings, cameos, printed or embossed versions with leopard patterns, skulls, a colourful and fresh find in a relatively conformist city – a breath of creative air. In the shop’s assortment, with the red dresses, decorated with skulls or adorned with a leopard velvet stripe to contrast a more classic fabric, Camille sells other designer productions. You can find a line of bags created especially for Indie-Cat, some “Girl Power ” socks, leopard print rain coats, multi-coloured bicycle saddlebags (yes!!), handmade cuddly toys, handmade cards, decal tattoos, scented candles, hand-sewn underwear, ceramics (cups, saucers, etc.), fabric sold by the meter, and soon a very sexy line of stockings.

As much as possible, she favours craftsmen, with identical universes. Most items are local, few come from commercial brands. The walls are used as a gallery. Next up, artist Charlotte (oil paintings) will open her exhibition on September 21 at 6 pm. The paintings will be on display until November 15. A small side note, Camille, as inventive as she is skilled, also practices roller derby. The next tournament, at Petit-Lancy, will take place on September 23. Info here: Geneva Roller Derby. So if you are not going to London soon (and even if you are), this is THE place to visit as soon as possible!

Photography © Nathalie Mastail-Hirosawa
Rue Leschot 4, 1205 Genève
Tue-Wed-Fri 11am-5.30pm; Thu 11am-6.30pm; Sat 12am-4pm
+41799629817

Think Big
1 – EXTRA-ordinary
My Big Geneva promotes EXTRA-ordinary places, businesses, events and people.
2 – Free of charge
Subscribing to My Big Geneva newsletter doesn’t cost a penny.
3 – Generosity
Throughout the year, you can win concert tickets, festival passes and much more!
4 – My Big Geneva needs to earn a living
Like everyone does. That’s why we have partners that we TRUST to deliver Big news and Big deals for YOU!
5 – No spam whatsoever
My Big Geneva keeps your email address like a secret; moreover, My Big Geneva doesn’t harass your inbox, nor the feed of your social networks.

Indie-Cat

Indie-Cat

Jolie boutique de la rue Leschot à Genève, Indie-Cat vous donne l’illusion d’être téléportés à Londres le temps d’une visite.

Vous vous y sentirez proches de Betty Bop, en version un peu plus rock, comme plongés dans la maison d’une belle pin-up du burlesque. Camille, charmante créatrice à l’âme d’artiste, y décline son univers mental. Formée comme styliste modéliste, elle lance une première ligne de vêtements pour hommes à Paris, qui ne fonctionne pas vraiment (une histoire à raconter à une FuckUp Nights?). Elle vient alors à Genève et se lance dans la réalisation de collections complètes pour femmes et enfants. Ainsi naît la marque Indie-Cat, fin 2008. La jeune femme dessine les modèles qu’elle fait réaliser, parfois par un atelier français ou, dernièrement, par l’association SOS femmes.

La naissance de jumeaux lui inspire une série pour les plus petits, mais rend aussi son travail plus ardu et elle décide de réaliser des bijoux: bagues et boucles d’oreilles fantaisies, camés, versions imprimés ou en relief avec motifs léopards, têtes de mort, un monde coloré et frais dans une ville par trop conformiste, pour une vraie bouffée d’air créative.Dans l’assortiment de la boutique, en plus de robes rouges, décorées de têtes de mort ou rehaussées d’une bande velours léopard pour trancher sur un tissus plus classique, Camille s’associe avec d’autres créateurs. Vous trouverez donc une ligne de sac créée spécialement pour Indie-Cat, des chaussettes Girl Power, des vestes de pluie imprimées léopard, des housses de selle de vélo bariolées (enfin!!), des peluches faites mains, des cartes artisanales, des tatouages-décalcomanie pour enfants, des bougies parfumées, des sous-vêtements cousus main, des céramiques (tasses, sous-tasses… “Revolution begins in the kitchen”), du tissu vendu au mètre… et bientôt une ligne de collants très très sexy.

Dans la mesure du possible elle privilégie les artisans, au gré du feeling et des rencontres. Certaines pièces à vendre sont locales, d’autres arrivent de circuits de plus grands producteurs. Les murs servent aussi de galerie. La prochaine artiste, Charlotte (peintures à l’huile) sera présente pour le vernissage de son exposition le 21 septembre dès 18h. Œuvres visibles jusqu’au 15 novembre. Petite parenthèse, Camille, aussi inventive que polyvalente, pratique aussi le roller derby. Le prochain tournoi, au Petit-Lancy aura lieu le 23 septembre. Toutes les infos ici Geneva Roller Derby. Donc, si vous n’allez pas à Londres prochainement (et même si…), c’est l’adresse qu’il vous faut visiter au plus vite!

Photographie © Nathalie Mastail-Hirosawa
Rue Leschot 4, 1205 Genève
Mar-mer-ven 11h – 17h30; jeu 11h -18h30; sam 12h -16h
+41799629817

CLOSE
CLOSE