EN
|
Musée Rath

Connected to the quintet of the Museums of Art and History, the Rath is a must in terms of temporary exhibitions of great scale. In 1826 it was inaugurated, at the request of the two Rath sisters, Jeanne-Henriette and Jeanne-Françoise, who bequeathed the legacy of their deceased brother to the city of Geneva. The first Swiss museum of fine arts, the august neoclassical columns of the building envelop a heavy door that dominates one of Geneva’s most symbolic squares: the Place Neuve. Ok fine, Place-de-Neuve, for the picky ones. In a few steps, one discovers the statue of General Dufour to dada on his steed, musical notes exhaled by the conservatory, the inescapable Parc des Bastions and its oversized chess-boards, or the dust from the Grand Théâtre, being refurbished since early 2016. In short, history, culture, nature and construction work.
From Swiss and international art, to archeology, the Rath’s programming is evidently faithful to the lineage of the Museums of art and history: familial and popular. Its latest exhibition, Le Retour des ténèbres (the return of the shadows). L’imaginaire gothique depuis Frankenstein (gothic imagination since Frankenstein) retraced the memories of legendary figures of modern gothic culture, through vampires and Frankenstein’s character. You probably already know this, it was in fact in Geneva, during the summer of 1816, that these creatures came to life in Lord Byron and Mary Shelley’s (dark?) imagination. These two British writers were vacationing on the banks of our dear old Lac Léman.
Summer is fast approaching and there is nothing like the coolness of a museum to taunt the heatwave. The TPG lines leading to the Rath museum are: 3, 5, 12, 14, 18. There are currently no exhibitions scheduled, but it won’t be long.

Meanwhile, Place de Neuve awaits your visit. It is beautiful by day and by night. Give a hug to Catherine for me.

Photographie © Julien Herger, My Big Geneva
Place Neuve, 1204 Geneva
Tue to Sun, 11am to 6pm (closed on Mondays)
Exhibitions: 10.- or 20.-
Free entry to under 18s and on the first Sunday of the month

Think Big
1 – EXTRA-ordinary
My Big Geneva promotes EXTRA-ordinary places, businesses, events and people.
2 – Free of charge
Subscribing to My Big Geneva newsletter doesn’t cost a penny.
3 – Generosity
Throughout the year, you can win concert tickets, festival passes and much more!
4 – My Big Geneva needs to earn a living
Like everyone does. That’s why we have partners that we TRUST to deliver Big news and Big deals for YOU!
5 – No spam whatsoever
My Big Geneva keeps your email address like a secret; moreover, My Big Geneva doesn’t harass your inbox, nor the feed of your social networks.

Musée Rath

Musée Rath

Relié au quintet des Musées d’art et d’histoire, le Rath est un incontournable en matière d’expositions temporaires de grande envergure. C’est en 1826 qu’il est inauguré, sur l’initiative des deux sœurs Rath, Jeanne-Henriette et Jeanne-Françoise (l’époque pardonne la désuétude), qui léguèrent à la ville de Genève l’héritage de leur défunt frère. Premier musée helvète des beaux-arts, les augustes colonnes néoclassiques de l’édifice enveloppent une lourde porte qui domine l’une des places les plus emblématiques de Genève : la place Neuve. Bon d’accord, la place -de Neuve, pour les plus préservateurs. En quelques pas, on découvre la statue du général Dufour à dada sur son destrier, les effluves musicaux exhalés par le conservatoire, l’inéluctable parc des Bastions et ses échiquiers démesurés, ou encore la poussière du Grand Théâtre en travaux depuis début 2016. En bref, l’Histoire, la culture, la nature, et les travaux. Un vrai Swiss Vapeur genevois!
De l’art suisse et international, à l’archéologie, la programmation du Rath est évidemment fidèle à la lignée des Musées d’art et d’histoire, familiale et populaire. Sa dernière exposition en date, Le Retour des ténèbres. L’imaginaire gothique depuis Frankenstein retraçait les mémoires des figures légendaires de la culture gothique moderne, à travers les vampires et le personnage de Frankenstein. Vous le savez déjà sûrement, c’est en effet à Genève, durant l’été 1816, que ces créatures ont pris vie dans l’imaginaire (sombre?!) de Lord Byron et Mary Shelley, deux écrivains britanniques alors en vacances sur les berges de notre bon vieux lac Léman.
L’été arrive à grands pas et rien de tel que la fraîcheur d’un musée pour narguer la canicule. 3. 5. 12. 14. 18. Voici toutes les lignes tpg qui mènent au musée Rath. Actuellement aucune exposition n’est annoncée, cela ne saurait tarder. Cependant, la place de Neuve, elle, attend votre visite. Aussi belle de jour, comme de nuit. Embrassez Catherine pour moi.

Photographie © Julien Herger, My Big Geneva
Place Neuve, 1204 Genève
Mar à dim 11h-18, nocturne le 2e mercredi du mois jusqu’à 19h
Ouvert uniquement durant les expositions temporaires
Entrée: libre jusqu’à 18 ans, entre 10.- et 20.- selon les expositions
Gratuit le 1er dimanche du mois
+41224183340

CLOSE
CLOSE