Glen Hansard

Glen Hansard

A song is like a saddle: you ride it for a while and if it’s the right kind of song you can sing it for the rest of your life“.
Two months ago, I mentioned this artist in an article published in MyBigGeneva. Two weeks ago, Emilie wrote down this magnificent quote on a piece of paper which she handed to me. Two days ago, she informed me that Glen Hansard was coming to Switzerland for a unique concert.

I could spend hours talking to you about Glen Hansard especially during a snowy night, cuddled in front of a fireplace without being weary or repeating myself. I fell in love with the music of this artist a long time ago, while I was travelling in Ireland where the rain would soak my skin: but the warmth of his music would soothe any person’s heavy heart.

At the age of 13, Glen left his schoolboy bag under the bed and took his guitar to play on Grafton Street. At the time, a music director urged him to follow his blazing passion for music. For 5 years, the streets taught him the life of a musician and allowed him to understand how sound could be projected. The streets forged his character, shaped his music game and honed his voice. The streets also taught him to think of the present, to be patient, to impose himself some times and to be more discreet at other times. He learned how to make a living and to be content with very little.

He then formed the band “The Frames” where he became the frontman before becoming an actor in the movie “The Commitments”. He was also the main actor of an independent movie called “Once” which was produced with a ridiculously small budget. Once the movie was released in January 2006 in Dublin, the success of it took him by surprise: In the movie he played the role of a street musicien in other words, his life, more or less.

30 years later, with a Big name and an Oscar, Glen Hansard will still say: “we are never more than one step away from being back on the street”.

Last September, he released his latest (and second) solo album called “Didnt’ He Ramble” where one can witness the maturity of this Irish bohemian singer. His songs sing of a poignant truth with such energy and will. His music is authentic and breaks through your skin, crosses your bones to touch the most sensitive parts of your body.

Glen is the kind of musician that you must see perform live so follow my lead, take a day off from work and take a friend by the hand and catch the early train to Luzerne.

Markéta Irglova who starred next to Glen in the movie “Once” and in the band “The Swell Season” will begin the evening in the magnificent hall of KKL.

Saturday, February 23rd at 8pm
KKL Luzernersaal, Europaplatz 1, 6005 Luzerne
Price: 62.-
Book online

CLOSE
CLOSE

Glen Hansard

Glen Hansard

A song is like a saddle: you ride it for a while and if it’s the right kind of song you can sing it for the rest of your life“.
Il y a deux mois, je nommais ce musicien dans MyBigGeneva. Il y a deux semaines, Emilie a glissé cette citation sur une belle feuille de papier qui m’était adressée, un clin d’œil attentionné qui m’a touché. Il y a deux jours, elle m’a informé de sa venue.

Durant toute la longueur d’une soirée enneigée, blotti autour de la douceur d’un feu crépitant, je pourrais vous parler de Glen sans jamais me lasser, sans jamais me répéter. J’ai succombé à son charme il y a bien des années, quand j’ai connu l’Irlande et ses étroites rues pavées, mouillées d’une fine pluie, la chaleur de sa musique apaisant quelques cœurs pesants.

A 13 ans, poussé par un directeur qui voyait en lui croître une passion flamboyante pour la musique, Glen déposa son sac d’écolier sous le lit et prit sa guitare pour jouer sur Grafton Street. Pendant cinq ans, la rue lui a appris les aléas de la vie de musiciens et le força à développer la projection des sons. Elle forgea son caractère, façonna son style de jeu, affûta sa voix . La rue lui a appris aussi à être présent, patient, imposant, et discret par moment. À gagner son pain quotidien, et parfois se contenter de rien.
Ce qui l’a amené à monter le groupe “The Frames” et en devenir le frontman, jouer dans le film “The Commitments”, puis participer au tournage de “Once”, un film indépendant au budget ridiculement minuscule tourné durant le mois de janvier 2006 à Dublin qui a connu un succès mondial inattendu, en écrivant les chansons puis en interprétant au pied levé le rôle d’un musicien de rue. Son rôle. Celui de sa vie, ou presque.

Trente ans plus tard, avec un nom et un oscar, il dira encore “we are never more than one step away from being back on the street”.

En septembre dernier, Glen Hansard sortit son deuxième album solo “Didn’t He Ramble”, fruit de maturité chez ce troubadour irlandais qui fait vivre chacune de ses chansons grâce à sa poignante sincérité, à son énergie et à sa volonté. Sa musique brille de vérité et d’authenticité, elle vous perce la peau, traverse les os pour faire frissonner la partie sensible de votre corps.

Il fait partie de ces musiciens qu’il faut absolument voir en live, alors faites comme moi, posez un jour de congé, prenez quelqu’un par la main et sautez dans le train!

Markéta Irglova, compagne dans le film “Once” et dans leur groupe “The Swell Season”, entamera cette soirée dans le resplendissant KKL de Lucerne.

Mardi 23 février à 20h
KKL Luzernersaal, Europaplatz 1, 6005 Luzern
Prix: 62.-
Billetterie en ligne

CLOSE
CLOSE