EN
|
Montpellier, the gifted city

This article is part of of my French summer escapades. Welcome to Montpellier, a student city, known since several decades as a city of excellence. Montpellier was awarded as the most cultural, most innovative and most social city. The list of qualities of the gifted city is long. You will discover an international hub for dancing to music festivals, culture,cinema, the popular Pavilion and a center for photography. You’ll feel the happiness in this hyperactive bustling city.
You already know that I like to go “local” in terms of accommodation; it’s a habit of mine because I find it convenient and inexpensive. Since we were only two, we chose a small studio nestled at the edge of the historic center and close to the Royal Square Peyrou. Greeted by Alexander, he gave us within a couple of minutes a few attractive tips and the directions to go to the beach as the sea is close to the city.

Atypik restaurant, 15 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau
The first discovery at the foot of our love nest was an original restaurant with a creative decoration: your coasters are made out of vinyl (Dvorak Slavonic dances for myself) and a Betty Boop lamp provides you with light. We ate a spicy gazpacho served in a pot sailing on a small boat. The prawns and citrus salad is delicious, but it’s the dessert which is amazing: pistachio and avocado smoothie with sparkling sugar.. yummy, I still dream of it.

Bento Café, 44 rue de l’Université
The award of the best place to eat goes to the Bento Café, subtitled “the real deal in terms of Japanese cuisine”. And it’s 100% accurate. It has a family atmosphere and it’s really good. The bento is made on site by Dajinja in the kitchen while Olivier is in charge of welcoming and serving you with kindness. We ate there twice. A little travel anecdote: Olivier helped me find an urgent dentist during an improbable Saturday (at the end however, may I suggest you travel with a cloves oil bottle in your travel pharmacy which is much more simple).

La Chineuse en Vadrouille, 42 rue de l’Université
After this good meal with a coffee and a lychee ice cream, I stepped inside the second hand store located just a little further up the street (do go up and down several times inside the store). The name given by the owner already gives you a clue as to what to expect: the bargain hunter out and about (i.e. La Chineuse en Vadrouille). Cecilia is charming and has a gifted taste. In her shop, you will find clothing, jewellery, accessories which take you far away from Desigual, H&M or Zara! Thank god! And I personally fell for a piece of a Barcelona designer. She also made me discover a local artist called Evelyn Perez whose paintings where exhibited inside the store.

Muyuka, 25 rue de l’Aiguillerie
Another fashion store you will find is called Muyuka but trust me, every 2 meters in Montpellier is a fashion store. I couldn’t resist (yet again) and I bought a little Dass & Co Parisian designer dress.

Bikes and beach
The last episode of this trip took place on a bike: Velomagg is a self service (yes, biking comes with every city I visit). You can reach the Carnon beach by bike but the ride will take you two good hours! So if you’re not ready to pedal that much, take the tram 3 to its terminal where you will also find bikes for rent but it will take you only 20 minutes to reach the beach.
If you actually make this epic trip, you will sleep like a log.

Related posts: A Journey to Nantes (August 2016), Bordeaux (July 2016) and a week-end in Lyon (July 2016) in the series of Nathalie’s French escapes.

Think Big
1 – EXTRA-ordinary
My Big Geneva promotes EXTRA-ordinary places, businesses, events and people.
2 – Free of charge
Subscribing to My Big Geneva newsletter doesn’t cost a penny.
3 – Generosity
Throughout the year, you can win concert tickets, festival passes and much more!
4 – My Big Geneva needs to earn a living
Like everyone does. That’s why we have partners that we TRUST to deliver Big news and Big deals for YOU!
5 – No spam whatsoever
My Big Geneva keeps your email address like a secret; moreover, My Big Geneva doesn’t harass your inbox, nor the feed of your social networks.

Montpellier la surdouée

Montpellier la surdouée

Suite de mes échappées estivales en terres françaises. Voici Montpellier, ville à forte concentration étudiante, elle brille depuis plusieurs décennies comme ville d’excellence. Primée en tant que ville la plus culturelle, la plus dynamique, la plus innovante, la plus sociale… La liste des qualités de la surdouée est longue. Vous y découvrirez une cité internationale de la danse, des festivals de musique, cinéma, culture, le Pavillon populaire, espace pour la photographie… donc vous trouverez forcément votre bonheur dans cette ville hyperactive et bouillonnante.
Vous savez déjà que je loue “local”, c’est devenu une habitude car c’est pratique et peu cher. Pour profiter à deux, nous avons choisi un petit studio niché en bordure du centre historique et à deux pas de la place royale du Peyrou. Accueillis par Alexandre, il vous donne en quelques minutes les incontournables de la ville et aussi: comment aller à la plage, car la mer est proche de la ville!

Atypik resto, 15 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau
Première découverte au pied de notre nid pour amoureux, ce restaurant atypique à la décoration créative: vos dessous de plats sont des vinyles (les danses slaves de Dvorak pour moi), vous êtes éclairés par Betty Boop accrochée au mur dans sa version lampe. Nous y avons mangé un gaspacho piquant apporté dans un pot navigant sur un petit bateau. La salade de gambas et agrumes est délicieuse, mais c’est le dessert qui retournera vos sens : smoothie pistache et avocat avec du sucre pétillant, miam, j’en salive encore.

Bento Café, 44 rue de l’Université
La palme de mes bonnes adresses revient au Bento Café. Sous-titré “la vraie cuisine japonaise”, je ne peux que plussoyer ce slogan à 100% vrai. C’est familial et bon, les bento sont confectionnés sur place pour vous par Dajinja dans la cuisine et Olivier se charge de vous accueillir et de vous servir avec toute la gentillesse qui le personnifie. Nous y sommes retournés deux fois. Anecdote de voyage, mais pour moi révélatrice des qualités des hôtes de ce lieu, Olivier m’a aidée dans ma quête d’un improbable un samedi pour trouver un dentiste en urgence (au final je vous conseille plutôt de garder un flacon d’huile de clous de girofle dans votre pharmacie de voyage, c’est beaucoup plus simple).

La Chineuse en Vadrouille, 42 rue de l’Université
Après ce bon repas et un café assorti d’une glace au litchi, je suis entrée directement dans le deuxième main situé juste un peu plus haut sur la rue de l’Université (à parcourir de haut en bas plusieurs fois). Le nom choisit par la propriétaire des lieux vous donne déjà le programme des découvertes à venir: La Chineuse en Vadrouille. Cécilia est aussi charmante que douée de goût. Dans cette boutique les vêtements, bijoux, accessoires sont des pièces intéressantes qui vous emmènent loin de Desigual, H&M et Zara: mais ouffff!!! Et j’ai craqué pour une pièce de créateurs barcelonais.
Grâce à elle j’ai aussi pu apprécier quelques toiles de Evelyne Perez, talentueuse artiste locale exposée dans la boutique.

Muyuka, 25 rue de l’Aiguillerie
Autre boutique, mais vous en trouverez chaque deux mètres à Montpellier, entrez chez Muyuka. Je vous en parle car je n’ai pas pu résister (encore? ^_) à l’appel d’une jolie robe Dass & Co, enseigne parisienne.

Vélos et plage
Dernier épisode de cette virée clapassière (autre nom pour montpelliéraine) grâce aux vélomagg en libre-service (oui vous y aurez aussi droit à chaque fois…). Nous avons pu aller en vélo jusqu’à la plage de Carnon, mais!! ce trajet prend bien deux heures!! Alors si vous n’êtes pas prêts à pédaler autant, prenez plutôt le tram 3 jusqu’à son terminus où se trouvent aussi des vélos pour aller jusqu’à Carnon, mais en 20 minutes depuis cet arrêt.
Si vous faites toute l’épopée aller-retour, vous dormirez comme des loirs!

A lire aussi: Le voyage à Nantes (août 2016), Bordeaux (juillet 2016) et un week-end à Lyon (juillet 2016) dans la série des échappées estivales en terres françaises.

CLOSE
CLOSE