EN
|
Pour Tes Beaux Yeux

If I whisper in your ear “LuLúxpo“, you will inevitably think of electro music – Rock Me LoveJust TogetherInside My Head, to name a few EPs they’ve released to date. From Geneva’s alternative scene to a broader audience beyond our borders, the couple is able to convey its tempo and values without denying its origins.
But if music is indeed the first gateway to LuLúxpo’s universe, it would be a mistake to put them in the “DJ” box only.

Loulou studied ceramics (for real!) at the Beaux-Arts. Her relationship to art is intrinsically linked to craft and what she prefers is to transform a regular object, or any kind of material, into a work of art.  She’s not guided by any diktat of art; “creating is a visceral need” she says, and every time she creates, she tries to dig deep into her emotions.
If Pollux leads the way when it comes to music, it is Loulou who lures us into a tango through the visual arts.

About a decade ago, LuLúxpo came off a mix and walked the streets of Geneva on their way home. It was a dark night. Suddenly, like an act of vengence, they slammed acrylic paint across the wall. “Splatch!”

Since then, LuLúxpo has experimented with this derivative of action painting in many different ways during exhibitions and performances (to name only a few, the Biennial of Contemporary Art in Barcelona in 2004, the Flux Laboratory, the Calamart Gallery, Go Out Mag, etc.). The type of medium they used expanded over the years: from canvas to cars (yes indeed, the national launch of the Yaris Hybrid Toyota / Lexus back in 2012 was “splashed” by LuLúxpo), walls, a Fender Telecaster guitar during the Plug project, and one popular accessory: the baseball cap.

Symbol of the working class in the 19th century, illustrated by fictional characters in English literature, the cap really became popular in the 30s through baseball. Often worn by hip-hop artists, it is a distinctive sign of belonging to a group. And even if some luxury brands, or Jay-Z, turned it into a fashionable accessory, it still conveys values emanating from street culture.

Hence the attraction of this accessory for LuLúxpo.
“Pour Tes Beaux Yeux” (i.e. for your pretty eyes) is the new born of the LuLúxpo family: a line of artsy caps, which I like to call art-to-wear. Each piece is unique and of course available online. Kids & Co, women, men, you will find many options to suit your tastes. All you have to do is make a choice. Some caps are already sold out but don’t worry, every week, new models are available online.

Lancement Pour Tes Beaux Yeux by LuLúxpo @ Foound from LuLúxpo on Vimeo.

Think Big
1 – EXTRA-ordinary
My Big Geneva promotes EXTRA-ordinary places, businesses, events and people.
2 – Free of charge
Subscribing to My Big Geneva newsletter doesn’t cost a penny.
3 – Generosity
Throughout the year, you can win concert tickets, festival passes and much more!
4 – My Big Geneva needs to earn a living
Like everyone does. That’s why we have partners that we TRUST to deliver Big news and Big deals for YOU!
5 – No spam whatsoever
My Big Geneva keeps your email address like a secret; moreover, My Big Geneva doesn’t harass your inbox, nor the feed of your social networks.

Pour Tes Beaux Yeux

Pour Tes Beaux Yeux

Si je vous dis LuLúxpo, vous allez forcément penser à l’electro… Rock Me Love, Just Together, Inside My Head pour ne citer que ces quelques EPs. De la scène alternative genevoise au grand public au delà de nos frontières, le couple a su véhiculer son tempo et ses valeurs sans jamais renier ses origines.
Mais si la musique est en effet la première porte d’accès à l’univers LuLúxpo, ce serait une erreur que de les ranger dans la case “DJ” uniquement.

Loulou a étudié la céramique (le saviez-vous?) aux Beaux-Arts. Son rapport à l’art est intrinsèquement lié à l’artisanat et ce qu’elle préfère, c’est détourner un objet “banal”, une matière quelconque en une oeuvre, sans à priori. Elle ne se laisse guider par aucun diktat de l’art; “créer est un besoin viscéral” me dira-t-elle et elle tente à chaque création d’être au plus près de ses émotions.
Si Pollux mène la danse quand il s’agit de musique, c’est Loulou qui nous entraine dans un tango (de préférence argentin) par le biais des arts plastiques.

À la sortie d’un mix, il y a de cela une dizaine d’années, le couple foule les rues genevoises, le rythme encore dans la peau, dans une nuit noire. D’un geste revendicatif, “comme un coup de point sur la table”, la matière – de la peinture acrylique – est propulsée à même le mur. “Splatch”! Une part de mystère, une perte de contrôle, la forme… laissée au hasard. Le hors champ devient alors partie intégrante de l’oeuvre.

Depuis, les LuLúxpo ont expérimenté le “Splatch”, dérivé de l’Action Painting; d’expositions en performances (en résumé la biennale d’art contemporain à Barcelone en 2004, le Flux Laboratory, la Galerie Calamart, Go Out Mag, le Bal des Créateurs, etc.), les supports se sont multipliés: toiles, voitures (mais oui, le lancement national de la Yaris Hybride de Toyota / Lexus en 2012 splatchée par les LuLúxpo), murs, guitare Fender Telecaster dans le projet Plug… jusqu’aux habits et en particulier, un accessoire populaire: la casquette.

Portée à l’endroit, à l’envers ou sur le côté, symbole de la classe ouvrière au XIXe siècle, illustrée par des personnages romanesques dans la littérature surtout anglaise (je pense à Sherlock Holmes et sa casquette à visière opposée), c’est le baseball américain dans les années 30s qui l’emmène vers la gloire. Alpaguée par le mouvement hip-hop, la casquette, par définition, est un signe distinctif d’appartenance à un groupe. Et même si quelques marques de luxe ou des Jay-Z en ont fait un objet “à la mode”, elle véhicule toujours des valeurs émanant de la culture de rue.

D’où l’attrait de cet objet pour les LuLúxpo.

“Pour Tes Beaux Yeux”, c’est donc le tout dernier-né de la famille LuLúxpo: une ligne de casquettes splatchées, une sorte d’art-à-porter sur la tête. Chaque pièce est bien sûr unique et disponible en ligne. Kids & Co, femmes, hommes, les déclinaisons sont nombreuses. À vous de faire votre choix. Certains modèles sont déjà partis comme des petits pains, cependant le site est constamment réapprovisionné.

Lancement Pour Tes Beaux Yeux by LuLúxpo @ Foound from LuLúxpo on Vimeo.

CLOSE
CLOSE