Queen Anne

Queen Anne

“The Favourite” is what could be called a film of “dispositif”; of complete “dispositif”, entirely at the service of the topic. The light is white and implacable when it is dazzling, lugubrious when it is dim. The women wear black and white cloth – They are sinister. Men wear red jackets – is that a sign of weakness in a monochrome world? What unites these women, what glues this small world together, what the overwhelming music embodies is power.

Queen Anne is the power. And endures it. Lady Marlborough, Godolphin and Harley have a sexual relationship with power, they enjoy it. Abigail needs power to survive. Power is crazy, power distorts perspectives in the manner of the fisheye lens used repeatedly by Yorgos Lanthimos. Is it the representation of how Queen Anne sees the world? A look altered by intermittent episodes of paranoid madness.

Crazy, they are all. Of this madness that does not say its name, which hides under the features of normality; of this madness for domination. Men wear the red of power. It makes sense, they are men, they are, by definition, the power. Relentlessly, Lady Marlborough crushes them and keeps their head below water. These are the techniques of male domination – she screams, threatens, punches; without, at any moment wishing to be taken for a man. She is a woman, a violent woman. Her cousin, Abigail, is sweet. Sweet as is a strategy which slowly but surely takes its marks; then brutal when it closes down on you. She rarely strikes, but when she strikes, like the Marquise de Merteuil, she aims for total destruction. She is probably the only sane person at the opening of the film. In the end, just like the others, she is no more than a junkie addicted to a power that is never total enough.

As for Queen Anne, whom everyone seems to abuse, who literally rots by the days, she uses power for what it is, an instrument. The instrument by which she maintains her domination over her court of junkies, the instrument by which she deflects the violence of one group towards the other and manages to create a safe space, in which she can be the sugar-addict, eccentric lesbian she is.

“The Favourite” is a game of distorting mirrors, which displays to the fullest the determination and brutality to which women, so mankind, will not hesitate to recourse to gain or retain power. It is interesting to note that “The Favourite” is called a feminist film. Why would a film about powerful women be feminist and not just a film about power? Until the powerful women are no longer seen as an object of curiosity or a demonstration of feminist activism, “The Favourite” is an excellent film.

CLOSE
CLOSE

Queen Anne

Queen Anne

“The Favourite” est ce que l’on pourrait appeler un film de dispositif; de dispositif complet, entièrement au service du propos. La lumière est blanche et dure quand elle est éblouissante, lugubre quand elle est tamisée. Les femmes sont en blanc et noir –sinistres. Les hommes portent une veste rouge – signe de faiblesse dans un monde monochrome? Ce qui unit ces femmes, ce qui englue tout ce petit monde, ce qu’incarne la musique écrasante, c’est le pouvoir.

La reine Anne est le pouvoir. Et le subit. Lady Marlborough, Godolphin et Harley ont une relation charnelle au pouvoir, ils en jouissent. Abigail a besoin du pouvoir pour survivre. Le pouvoir est fou, le pouvoir déforme les perspectives à la manière de la lentille hypergone utilisée à plusieurs reprises par Yorgos Lanthimos. Est-ce la représentation du regard que la reine Anne pose sur monde? Un regard altéré par des épisodes intermittents de folie paranoïaque.

Fous, ils le sont tous. De cette folie qui ne dit pas son nom, qui se cache sous les traits de la normalité; de cette folie de domination. Les hommes portent le rouge du pouvoir, normal, ce sont des hommes, ils sont, forcément, le pouvoir. Sans relâche, Lady Marlborough les écrase et les maintient plus bas que terre. Ce sont les techniques de la domination masculine qu’elle applique – elle crie, menace, frappe ; sans pourtant à aucun moment vouloir passer pour un homme. Elle est une femme, une femme violente. Sa cousine, Abigail, est douce. Douce comme l’est une stratégie qui se met en place ; puis brutale lorsqu’elle se referme sur vous. Elle frappe peu, mais, lorsqu’elle frappe, à l’image de la marquise de Merteuil, elle vise la destruction totale. Elle est probablement la seule personne saine d’esprit à l’ouverture du film. A la fin, tout comme les autres, elle n’est plus qu’une junkie d’un pouvoir qui n’est jamais assez total.

Quant à la reine Anne, dont tout le monde semble abuser, qui dépérit à vue d’œil, elle utilise le pouvoir pour ce qu’il est, un instrument. L’instrument par lequel elle maintient sa domination sur sa cour de junkies, l’instrument par lequel elle redirige la violence des uns contre les autres et parvient à créer une sphère de protection, dans laquelle elle peut mener sa vie de lesbienne gourmande et excentrique. 

“The Favourite” est un jeu de miroirs déformants, qui montre toute la passion et la brutalité dont des femmes, donc les hommes en tant qu’espèce, peuvent être capables pour détenir ou conserver le pouvoir. Il est intéressant de noter que l’on qualifie “The Favourite” de film féministe. Pourquoi un film sur des femmes de pouvoir serait-il féministe et non pas tout simplement un film sur le pouvoir ? En attendant que les femmes puissantes ne soient plus vues comme un objet curieux ou une démonstration de militantisme féministe, “The Favourite” est un excellent film.

FERMER
CLOSE