GeorgeGyrosPhoenix

George Theodorakis Salvaridis is the 3rd generation of his family, originally from the Black Sea. His ancestors moved to the United States in the hope of finding gold there. After several years of fruitless research, George finally decides that eating well is more important than gold. In 2011, he opened his very first George’s Famous Gyros & Pasta.

 

George’s Famous Gyros

George’s Gyros recipe is true to tradition. What is paramount, he says, is the quality of the meat and the freshness of the salad. Wrapped in a homemade pita, a single Gyros is enough to satisfy your hunger. The bestseller is called Picado and it is BIG. Served with corn fritters, special mention for the honey sauce (Greek honey, of course).

At George’s, the word diet does not exist.

 

Chicken Faliro

George’s Yaya (grandmother) lived in the Faliro district of Athens. His grandson wanted to pay homage to him by preparing the (always famous) chicken of Faliro: chicken breast with artichokes and capers in olive oil and lemon sauce. Served over pasta or rice with a Greek salad and garlic bread.

When the bill comes, still nothing to complain about. George is popular and very funny. Self-mockery is really his thing.

 

#MakeAmericaGreekAgain

GeorgeGyrosPhoenix

George Theodorakis Salvaridis est la 3e génération de sa famille, originaire de la mer noire. Ses ancêtres se sont expatriés aux Etats-Unis dans l’espoir d’y trouver de l’or. Après plusieurs années de recherche infructueuse, George décide que finalement manger bien est plus important que de posséder des lingots. Il ouvre en 2011 son tout premier George’s Famous Gyros & Pasta.

 

Les Famous Gyros de George

La recette des Gyros de George est fidèle à la tradition. Ce qui est primodiale, dit-il, c’est la qualité de la viande et la fraîcheur de la salade. Enveloppé dans une pita faite maison, un seul Gyros suffit à satisfaire sa faim. Le best-seller s’appelle Picado et il est BIGantesque. Servi avec des beignets de maïs, mention toute spéciale pour la sauce au miel (grec forcément).

Ici, le mot régime n’existe pas.

 

Le poulet de Faliro

La Yaya (grand-mère) de George habitait dans le quartier de Faliro à Athènes. Son petit-fils a voulu lui rendre hommage en préparant le (toujours fameux) poulet de Faliro: poitrine de poulet aux artichauts et câpres dans une sauce à l’huile d’olive et au  citron. Servi sur des pâtes ou du riz avec une salade grecque et du pain à l’ail.

Côté addition, rien à redire. George est populaire et très drôle. L’auto-dérision, c’est vraiment son truc.

 

#MakeAmericaGreekAgain