student short film created by Daniela Dwek, Chrisy Baek and Maya Mendonca and produced at the School of Visual Arts in New York City.

Daniela, Maya, and Chrisy, students at the School of Visual Arts in New York City, are the talents behind Hamsa. They have produced a short film named Hamsa and won the Student Academy Award from the Oscars. They have kindly agreed to share some insights with us on their journey of producing Hamsa.

A young Israeli girl named Tikvah is oblivious to the historical conflict she lives in. On a trip to the market, her mother reinforces her fear of “the other”. However, when chaos strikes she finds that the people she was once afraid of are not so bad.

What is Hamsa trying to tell us?

Daniela: Hamsa promotes peace. The story takes place in Israel as there is an ongoing complex conflict between Israel and Palestine. Hamsa is here to remind us that, at the end of the day, we are all human. It isn’t about the war or any government decisions, but about the people. We have to coexist with one-another – we see each other as humans. This is what Hamsa is showing us through the eyes of Tikvah who is still so innocent. She listens to what adults tell her and then at the end, you can see that the woman she was taught to fear was the one that helped her. Not only does she change her mind, but so does the mother through her child. Hamsa gives hope that the future generations can give up the judgment that was in the prior generations.

Is the story personal to you?

Daniela: Being Jewish and coming from a family of refugees from the Middle East, I can really relate to the three different characters. My identities are fighting in away.

Maya: Even though we aren’t necessarily facing the same issue, we can relate this to our own – Black and White conflict, North and South Korea. We all appeal to this film in our separate ways.

What were some challenges you faced during the production of your short movie?

Daniela: One obvious one was when Corona hit! It came in March when we were at the peak of production, we were almost done yet there was still so much left to do. We were uncertain when we would be able to go back to school to use the facilities we needed, would it be weeks? Months? We had to take all the files on a hard drive which were HUGE. We were always used to working together, but now being in different states and not having access to the facilities was definitely a challenge.

I wasn’t supposed to be the voice of the mother, but we didn’t really have a choice because the recording booth at our school was closed.

How have digital technologies available for film making impacted your work?

Maya: We all watch animations and we never really thought or knew what the process was behind making such films. My interest sparked when I got to college, and throughout it with the different projects. I got to familiarize myself with all sorts of software and technologies that allow you to do different things.

Daniela: If you think about it, we’re creating a whole new world. There is a software that encompasses everything, but then for more specific things such as painting their skin, objects, textures, etc.. we would use other software.

Chrisy: Really, we’re using a library of software!

student short film created by Daniela Dwek, Chrisy Baek and Maya Mendonca and produced at the School of Visual Arts in New York City.

DanielaMaya et Chrisy sont les talents derrière le court métrage Hamsa. Ce sont trois étudiantes de la School of Visual Art de New York qui ont remporté le prix du festival d’animation 2020.

Une jeune fille israélienne nommée Tikvah est inconsciente du conflit historique dans lequel elle vit. Lors d’un voyage au marché, sa mère renforce sa peur de « l’autre ». Cependant, lorsque le chaos arrive, elle constate que les personnes qui lui faisaient peur autrefois ne sont pas si mauvaises.

Quel est le message derrière Hamsa?

Daniela: L’histoire se déroule en Israël, où se vit le conflit complexe entre le peuple Israéliens et Palestinien. Hamsa est là pour nous rappeler que nous sommes tous humains et mortels. Il ne s’agit pas de la guerre ni de décisions gouvernementales, mais du peuple. Nous devons coexister les un avec les autres. C’est ce que Hamsa nous montre à travers le regard de la petite fille encore si innocente. Elle n’a fait qu’écouter ce que les adultes lui disaient et en réalité on voit que la femme qu’elle avait appris à craindre lui vient en aide. Elle change son regard sur cette personne ainsi que celui de sa mère. Hamsa donne l’espoir et l’envie de croire que les futurs générations pourraient abandonner le jugement des générations précédentes.

Ce sujet est-il personnel pour vous?

Daniela: Étant juive et issue d’une famille de réfugiés du Moyen-Orient, je m’identifie aux trois personnages différents. C’est un peu comme si  mes identités étaient en opposition.

Maya: Même si nous ne sommes pas nécessairement confrontés au même problème, nous faisons tous appel à ce film à notre manière – conflit entre noir et blanc, entre la Corée du Nord et la Corée du Sud.

Quels défis avez-vous rencontrés lors de la production de votre court métrage?

Daniela: Une évidence était quand Corona a frappé! Le virus est arrivé en mars alors que nous étions au pic de la production, nous avions presque terminé, mais il restait encore beaucoup à faire. Nous ne savions pas quand nous pourrions retourner à l’école pour utiliser les installations dont nous avions besoin, serait-ce des semaines? Des mois? Nous avons toujours eu l’habitude de travailler ensemble donc le fait de ne pas avoir accès aux installations, en plus de ne pas être ensemble, ont définitivement été un défi.

Je n’étais pas censé être la voix de la mère, mais nous n’avions pas vraiment le choix, car la cabine d’enregistrement de l’université était fermée.

Comment les technologies numériques disponibles pour la réalisation de films impactent votre travail?

Maya: On regarde tous des dessins animés et je n’avais jamais vraiment pensé au processus derrière la réalisation de tels films. J’ai commencé à m’y intéresser quand je suis arrivée à l’université et tout au long de celle-ci avec les différents projets. J’ai appris à me familiariser avec toutes sortes de logiciels et de technologies qui permettent de faire un tas de choses différentes.

Daniela: Quand on y pense, on est en train de créer un nouveau monde. Il existe un logiciel qui englobe tout, mais pour des choses plus spécifiques comme la peinture de la peau, les objets, textures, etc. un autre logiciel est nécessaire.

Chrisy: La réalité est que nous utilisons une bibliothèque de logiciels.