Genève, cours de pilates en ligne gratuit, Impulse Pilates

Joseph Pilates was a very fragile child; he suffered from asthma and used to be very skinny. He, therefore, developed a system of exercises which were intended to strengthen the human mind and body. He truly believed that mental and physical health were interrelated. Among his students were many ballet dancers (especially from the American Ballet School of New York because when he moved to the USA, he actually rented a studio in the same building as the school) and they went on to teach his methods and open studios. But unlike yoga, there is not an official patent or exam to become a Pilates instructor.

OFFLINE COURSES OF PILATES

To avoid taking a class giving by a bad instructor, head to Impulse Pilates in Carouge. You will be greeted by Joana and Steven who are both classical ballet dancers. Though Joana also taught modern, jazz, and tap dance classes (and Reiki and meditation, she’s a star. Just have a look at the mindbodyintuition.ch website). Steven on the other hand is also a contemporary dancer and a practitioner (with a legal degree and certification) of Shiatsu. Together, they teach Pilates, stretching, Shiatsu, and Reiki classes from Monday to Friday. You can be alone with them, or take a friend with you; you can attend a class of three people and up to 7 for collective classes. And Impulse Pilates is VERY flexible: Joana and Steven (given that the class isn’t full yet because, at the beginning of each semester, they tend to be sold out very fast) will adapt to your schedule and what you want to do in terms of exercise.

ONLINE COURSES OF PILATES

Free videos of Impulse Pilates workout sessions are available on their YouTube channel, helping us get our daily work-outs done. 20 min. work-out videos per day: this way we can all manage to squeeze in exercise into our daily routine, which comes highly recommended. If you’re new to Pilates, Joana & Steven notes that “beginners must know that we always exhale through the effort. But, breathing while focusing on contracting the core muscles as well as moving a leg and/or an arm can seem overwhelming, so the most important is to try to keep a fluid movement and try not to hold your breath.”

A HEALTHY MIND IN A HEALTHY BODY

As Joana & Steven lead an exceptionally healthy lifestyle, we asked their advice on how to best spend our days when at home: maintaining a daily routine will help keep your anxiety low, and completing daily tasks will give a feeling of achievement at the end of the day, which is positive for mental health. This basically means that it’s still important to go to sleep, wake-up, and shower around the same time every day; although you may not be leaving the house. It’ll give you more motivation to carry out daily tasks, as opposed to feeling lazy or incompetent.

Genève, cours de pilates en ligne gratuit, Impulse Pilates

Joseph Pilates était un enfant chétif, qui plus est asthmatique et rachitique. Ses contraintes physiques l’ont poussé à adapter sa pratique du sport et à inventer sa propre méthode d’exercices physiques. Ce sont ses élèves, et notamment ceux de l’American Ballet School de New York qui donneront au Pilates l’essor que nous lui connaissons aujourd’hui; cependant, cette méthode n’est toujours pas brevetée. Il existe bien un organe (le FPMP) visant à préserver et à développer la qualité de cette discipline, mais les abus sont nombreux. Pour faire court, il est possible de devenir (un mauvais) prof de Pilates en un week-end.

COURS DE PILATE OFFLINE (EN COURS)

Joana (connue aussi le nom de Madame Bonheur) et Steven ont tous deux été formés au métier de danseur classique avant d’ouvrir le studio Impulse Pilates à Carouge. Joana a aussi enseigné le moderne, le jazz et les claquettes (et le Reiki et la méditation, que voulez-vous, c’est une perle! Allez faire un tour sur le site mindbodyintuition.ch pour comprendre l’étendue de son talent). Quant à Steven, il est aussi danseur contemporain, praticien diplômé et agréé de Shiatsu. Ensemble, ils proposent des cours de Pilates, de Pilates Barre, stretching, barre à terre, Shiatsu et Reiki du lundi au vendredi. Les cours peuvent être privés, pris en duo, en trio ou de manière collective en sachant que les cours collectifs sont donnés à un maximum de 7 personnes. Autant vous dire que Impulse Pilates est ultra méga flexible et s’adapte non seulement à vos envies mais aussi à votre emploi du temps… si bien sûr il reste encore de la place, car en début de semestre, leurs cours s’envolent comme des petits « oiseaux ».

COURS DE PILATES ONLINE

Sur leur chaîne YouTube, les fondateurs d’Impulse Pilates, Joana & Steven, ont pris en considération le confinement forcément ainsi que ses conséquences organisationnelles au sein de la famille. 20 minutes par jour suffiront. Si vous êtes débutant, notez: « nous expirons toujours dans l’effort. Mais, respirer tout en se concentrant sur la tenue du bas du ventre, le mouvement des bras et des jambes, peut sembler compliqué, donc le plus important est d’essayer de garder un mouvement fluide et de ne pas retenir sa respiration. »

UN CORPS SAINT DANS UN ESPRIT SAINT

Garder une routine est crucial pendant l’isolement; elle aide à contenir l’anxiété et l’exécution de tâches quotidiennes permettra de ressentir un sentiment d’accomplissement, toujours positif pour la santé mentale. Cela signifie essentiellement qu’il est toujours important de dormir et de se réveiller à peu près à la même heure tous les jours; même si vous ne quittez pas la maison. Cela vous donnera plus de motivation pour effectuer les tâches quotidiennes, plutôt que de vous sentir paresseux ou incompétent.