EN
|
Today, I bumped into Jérémie Burgdorfer…

While preparing for the second-hand pop-up store “Mes Pulls Font La Manche,” I bumped into one of the Angels of the Paradis wine estate: the new general manager, Jérémie Burgdorfer. Jérémie was born and raised in Paradis (lucky him!) before venturing into the world of HR and co-founding the communication agency Buxum.

 

During the grape harvests, his father Roger taught him the trade; a profession he grew fond of. The transmission didn’t happen overnight; much like the land, cultivating this skill was necessary before reaping its rewards, then the wine.

 

How was Paradis created?

My parents, Rosette and Roger, met at the village post office in Satigny. My mother was temporarily replacing someone, and my father was a vineyard worker. My father learned the trade of viticulture and nursery gardening from my grandfather. Initially, when my parents created the Paradis estate, a small part of the vineyard came from my grandfather, but the main activity was the nursery. The fields surrounding the path to the estate used to be the nursery with its grapevines. The estate was responsible for grafting at that time.

The Right Bank (790 ha according to Genève Terroir) including Satigny where the Paradis estate was established, is Switzerland’s largest winegrowing municipality. Rosette and Roger built their first working tool in 1983: a 35m2 dwelling and a 60m2 storage area. It wasn’t until 1987 that Paradis had a cellar, a grafting room, and two storage cellars. The nursery completely gave way to the vineyards in the early 2000s, but Roger, who was president of the Swiss nursery gardening federation, remained heavily involved in the field.

 

Today, Paradis is…

35 hectares of vineyards and a production of 300,000 bottles per year. Initially, we cultivated 1.5 hectares of vines. We don’t own the land for generations, so a large part of this area is not our property. These are vineyards that we rent from families who own the land but do not work it. This is quite common, especially in Valais.

 

But why Paradis?

Today, we recognize the positive force that the term “Paradis” evokes, but it wasn’t the case while growing up there. My father was born in a house in Satigny rented by my grandparents, which still exists and is called the Paradis house because it’s registered on the Chemin du Paradis. It’s the only house on that path. So, he named the estate Paradis after his childhood home, where he lived for his first 20-25 years.

 

Is this your Paradis now?

It depends on one’s concept of paradise; there are challenging days and complicated moments, like anywhere else, but it’s my form of paradise. It’s an environment where you feel serene, where you’re proud of what it is and it urges you to be a little better every day. So, yes, it’s a form of paradise. I am the first generation to take over because the generation before me created it, so having someone take over is a very new dynamic. As the successor, I’m directly impacted by the genesis, by the essence of the company because I experienced it when I was little. It’s a fantastic transition to life, but it also presents many challenges.

 

Perpetuating Paradis was an obvious decision?

I’ve always found it hard to follow the beaten path. And inevitably, when your parents have a business, especially an agricultural one, in our culture, it’s often expected that the next generation will take over, so there’s a bit of this inevitability. But for me, I didn’t like the fact that if I wanted it, I could have it.

My sister and I have always participated in the estate’s life according to our age. As a child and teenager, the October vacation week was spent harvesting. My father also entrusted me with a plot of grenache, which still exists, and I learned to cultivate it. As an adult, I used to come and work with my father on Sundays, and these moments added a bit of romance to this universe. However, I needed to gain professional experience elsewhere, and especially, I didn’t want to be “the son of.”

By doing something else, the desire to come back emerged. The desire to perpetuate a beautiful story. When I made this decision, I didn’t know in what form I would perpetuate this story, and I was living this independent side with Buxum in a completely different environment and context. So, the transmission transition happened gradually with my father over 3 years. And for the past 18 months, I’ve been completely involved in the operational side of the estate.

 

Jérémie used to tell his father: “I don’t think I would have pursued this profession if my family didn’t have an estate and if my family didn’t grow up in it,” because the passion for this land-based profession wasn’t love at first sight. The passion grew with time, transmission, work… and a return to roots. To taste a bit of this Paradis, passed down to Jérémie, there’s an online shop and distribution to places like Nicolas, Globus, or Manor. You can also enjoy Paradis in restaurants such as Café De Peney or wine bars such as Qu’Importe.

Otherwise, one must visit the estate (and who would refuse to visit Paradis???) where tastings, events, and tours punctuate the Angels’ daily routine.

 

It’s customary to end Big Interviews with a questionnaire, here it is:

A place that represents you
The Paradis house.
Your official canteen
I’m very fickle… but I return with pleasure to Café de la Paix.
Dark or milk chocolate?
I’m in the process of changing… it used to be milk, but it’s turning dark (laughs).
Your cherished object
My piano.
Your Robinson Crusoe book
“The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green.
The movie you’ve watched 40,000 times
No, I don’t have a movie like that, but I have a tennis match, Federer vs. Safin in the semi-finals of the Australian Open in 2005.
An artist on your playlist
I can’t name the song, but I’ve recently listened to Irma.
An Instagrammer you follow wholeheartedly
@Nielsacks


Photographiy
© Didier Jordan

Think Big
1 – Extra-ordinary
My Big Geneva writes about EXTRA-ordinary people, places, and things to do.
2 – Free of charge
Subscribing to My Big Geneva newsletter doesn’t cost a penny.
3 – Curious
Just like George (what? You don't know who is Curious George?)
4 – Open-minded
But not so open that our brains fall out.
5 – No spam
My Big Geneva doesn’t harass your inbox, nor the feed of your social networks.

Aujourd’hui j’ai croisé Jérémie Burgdorfer…

Aujourd’hui j’ai croisé Jérémie Burgdorfer…

En plein préparatif du vide-dressing au Paradis avec Mes Pulls Font La Manche, j’ai croisé parmi les Anges du domaine le nouveau directeur général: Jérémie Burgdorfer. Jérémie est né et a grandi au Paradis (quelle chance!) avant d’évoluer dans le monde des RH et de co-fonder l’agence de communication Buxum. Au fil des vendanges, son père Roger lui apprend le métier; un métier auquel il prend goût. La transmission ne s’est pas faite du jour au lendemain; tout comme la terre, il a fallu cultiver ce savoir-faire avant d’en récolter le fruit, puis le vin.

Comment le Paradis a-t-il été créé?
Mes parents, Rosette et Roger, se sont rencontrés à la poste du village de Satigny. Ma mère effectuait un remplacement professionnel et mon père était vigneron-tâcheron. Mon père a appris son métier de viticulture et de pépiniériste auprès de mon grand-père et au départ, quand mes parents créent le domaine du Paradis, une petite partie de la vigne venait de mon grand-père mais le plus gros de l’activité c’était la pépinière. Les champs qui entourent le chemin qui mène au domaine étaient à l’époque la pépinière avec ces plants de vigne. Le domaine s’occupait alors du greffage. 

 La Rive Droite (790 ha selon Genève Terroir) dont Satigny où le domaine du Paradis a été créé, est la plus grande commune viticole de Suisse. Rosette et Roger y construisent leur premier outil de travail en 1983: une habitation de 35m2 et un local de 60m2. Ce n’est qu’en 1987 que le Paradis dispose d’une cave, d’un local à greffes et de deux celliers de stockage. La pépinière laissera complètement sa place au début des années 2000 à la vigne mais Roger, qui fut président de la fédération suisse de pépiniéristes, restera très impliqué dans le milieu.

Aujourd’hui le Paradis, c’est…
35 hectares de vigne et une production de 300’000 bouteilles par année. Au tout début, nous cultivions 1.5 hectares de vigne. Nous ne sommes pas propriétaires de génération en génération, une grande partie de cette surface n’est donc pas notre propriété. Ce sont des vignes que nous louons à des familles qui ne travaillent pas la terre mais qui les possèdent. C’est très courant, notamment dans le Valais.

Mais pourquoi le Paradis?
Aujourd’hui on mesure la force positive que le terme de Paradis suscite mais ce n’était pas le cas en grandissant dedans. Mon père est né dans une maison à Satigny loué part mes grand-parents, qui existe toujours d’ailleurs et qui s’appelle la maison du Paradis car elle est cadastrée au chemin du Paradis. Et c’est l’unique maison de ce chemin. Il a donc nommé le domaine du Paradis en référence à la maison de son enfance dans laquelle il a vécu pendant ces 20-25 premières années.

Ici, c’est ton Paradis maintenant?
Cela dépend de la conception qu’on a du paradis; il y a des journées difficiles et des moments compliqués comme partout, mais c’est un peu ma forme à moi de paradis. C’est un environnement où tu te sens en sérénité, où tu es fier de ce que c’est et qui te pousse à être meilleur un peu tous les jours. Donc oui c’est une forme de paradis. Je suis la première génération à reprendre car la génération avant moi a créé donc c’est très nouveau comme dynamique d’avoir quelqu’un qui reprend. Du coup, moi en tant que repreneur, je suis très directement impacté par la genèse, par l’essence de l’entreprise parce-que je l’ai vécue quand j’étais petit. C’est une transition qui est géniale à vivre mais qui a aussi beaucoup de défis.

Perpétuer le Paradis fut une décision évidente?
J’ai toujours eu de la peine d’aller dans les chemins tout tracés. Et immanquablement quand tes parents ont une entreprise, qui plus est une entreprise dans l’agriculture en général, souvent dans notre culture ça va être à la génération suivante de rependre donc il y a un peu cette évidence. Mais moi, je n’aimais pas le fait que si je le voulais, je pouvais l’avoir.
Avec ma soeur, nous avons toujours participé à la vie du domaine en fonction de notre âge; enfant et ado, la semaine de vacances d’octobre se passait à faire les vendanges. Mon père m’a aussi confié une parcelle de grenache, qui existe toujours, que j’ai appris à cultiver. Adulte, je venais le dimanche travailler avec mon père et ces moments ont apporté un peu de romantisme à cet univers. Cependant, j’ai eu besoin de m’aguerrir professionnellement ailleurs et surtout je ne voulais pas être le fils de… Et en faisant autre chose, il y a eu l’envie de revenir. L’envie de perpétuer une belle histoire.
Quand j’ai pris cette décision, j’ignorais encore sous quelle forme j’allais perpétuer cette histoire et je vivais ce côté indépendant avec Buxum dans un tout autre milieu et contexte. Donc la transmission-transition s’est faite progressivement avec mon père sur 3 ans. Et depuis 18 mois, je suis complètement dans l’opérationnel du domaine. 

Jérémie avait l’habitude de dire à son père: “je ne pense pas que j’aurais fait ce métier là si ma famille n’avait pas un domaine et si ma famille n’avait pas grandi dedans” car la passion de ce métier de la terre ne fut pas un coup de foudre. La passion est venue avec le temps, la transmission, le travail… et un retour aux sources. Pour déguster un peu de ce Paradis, transmis à Jérémie, il y a évidemment un shop en ligne et une distribution auprès de Nicolas, Globus ou Manor.  On peut aussi boire du Paradis dans les restaurants tels que le Café De Peney ou dans les bars à vins comme le Qu’Importe; sinon il faut se déplacer au domaine (et qui refuserait de visiter le Paradis????) où dégustations, événements et visites ponctuent le quotidien des Anges.

Il est coutume de terminer les Big interviews par un questionnaire, le voici: 

Un lieu qui te ressemble
La maison du Paradis.
Ta cantine officielle
Je suis très volage… Je retourne cependant avec plaisir au Café de la Paix.
Chocolat noir ou au lait?
Je suis en train de changer… c’était le lait, mais c’est en train de devenir le noir (rires).
Ton objet fétiche
Mon piano.
Ton livre de Robinson
Nos étoiles contraires de John Green.
Le film que tu as vu 40’000 fois
Non je n’ai pas de film comme ça mais j’ai un match de tennis Federer v Safin en demi-final à l’Open d’Australie en 2005.
Un artiste sur ta playlist
Je suis incapable de donner le titre du chanson mais j’ai écouté récemment Irma.
Un instagramer que tu suis avec conviction
https://www.instagram.com/nielsack/ 

Photographie © Didier Jordan
Domaine du Paradis
Route du Mandement 275, 1242 Satigny – Genève
+41227531855
info@domaine-du-paradis.ch

FERMER
CLOSE