Paris, My Big Travel, My BIg Geneva

A few nights at The Square hotel, lunch break at the Brasserie Hector, olive fig tapenade from the Comptoir De Papa, and its Greek-Persian delicacies. A little bit of shopping at the boutique SAAJ and Art everywhere.

 

The Square Hôtel is a 5* hotel in the heart of the 16th arrondissement with a Nuxe Spa and a private, secure garage accessible by lift. Very convenient. Designed by the architect Roger Taillibert, the rooms from 24m2 to 55m2 and their white marble bathroom are sheltered from the noise and offer the ultimate in comfort. From 275 euro by booking directly on the site.

The Square’s walls are decorated with African and contemporary Art; the smell of Nuxe perfume is everywhere.

 

In its contemporary Zebra bistro, the service is welcoming and breakfast is served until 10:30 a.m. The terrace overlooks a quiet street. All around, Art Deco prevails and you may visit Swan Island, the House of Balzac, the museum of Mankind, a local produce open-air market, and the Statue of Liberty.

 

If you prefer to have breakfast elsewhere, head to the artisanal bakery where Christophe Louie did his apprenticeship in the 14th arrondissement. The pain au raisin or the croissant are to die for. The t-shirt of the baker says…

 

… all men are born equal but the best become bakers.

 

Back in the 16th, for a lunch break with Picasso’s sketches at the Brasserie Hector. All dishes are homemade and prepared with fresh products. Count between 10 and 14 euros for a starter; 18 to 25 euros for the main dish.
Big crush for the orange blossom watermelon granita, under the parasol of a quiet terrace.

 

 

If you are SAAJ, the workshop of the designer Maëlys in rue Thorel (2nd arrondissement), whose acronym represents the first letters of the people who are dearest to her heart, is worth the detour. 80% of SAAJ creations are made in France, in 2 workshops in the Paris region and a factory in Aube. Knitwear, jeans, and shoes are Portuguese. The SAAJ e-shop delivers everywhere in Europe and in Switzerland.

 

Parisian evenings are by invitation only with the caterer Comptoir de Papa and its Greek-Persian cuisine.  The olive fig tapenade is a killer and is enjoyed with the Artist Formerly Known As @phdgkn in Neuilly-sur-Seine because he categorically refuses to exhibit his works of art or even show them on his Instagram account.

Time to meet the philosopher Moncef Semichi who just started a real estate business after a BIG international career, which began in Geneva. The discussion is deep and the words are flowing.

 

It’s 5. a.m because Babajoon told me that the world belongs to those who wake up early.

 

Paris awakens under the Passy viaduct, on the France Renaissance pontoon where couples take turns to immortalize their Love with their smartphone, and a view of the Eiffel Tower. I turn around to look at the Queen of Sheba and think to myself: she is one hell of a strong woman.

That is because she was and will always be loved by her Man, unconditionally.

Paris, My Big Travel, My BIg Geneva

Quelques nuitées à l’hôtel The Square, halte gourmande à la Brasserie Hector, tapenade figue olive au Comptoir De Papa et ses délices greco-persans. Côté shopping, j’ai été très SAAJ. L’Art était partout.

 

The Square Hôtel est un hôtel 5* au cœur du 16e arrondissement avec un Spa Nuxe et un garage privé, sécurisé accessible par un ascenseur. Imaginé par l’architecte Roger Taillibert, les chambres de 24m2 à 55m2 et leur salle de bain en marbre blanc sont à l’abri du bruit et d’un confort nec plus ultra. Dès 275 euro en réservant directement sur le site pendant le mois d’août.

Sur les murs du Square, de l’art Africain et contemporain; le parfum Nuxe embaume le tout.

 

Dans son bistrot contemporain Zebra, le service est accueillant et le petit-déjeuner servi jusqu’à 10h30. La terrasse donne sur une rue peu passante. Tout autour, des vestiges Art Déco, l’île aux cygnes, la maison de Balzac, le musée de l’Homme, un marché de producteurs locaux et la Statue de la Liberté.

 

Si vous préférez faire un petit-déjeuner ailleurs, direction la boulangerie artisanale où Christophe Louie a fait son apprentissage dans le 14e arrondissement. Le pain au raisin ou le croissant sont à tomber. Sur le t-shirt du boulanger il est écrit…

… Tous les hommes naissent égaux mais les meilleurs deviennent boulangers.

 

 

Retour dans le 16e, à l’heure du déjeuner, pour une pause gourmande avec les esquisses de Picasso à la Brasserie Hector. Tous les plats sont faits maison et élaborés avec des produits frais. Comptez entre 10 et 14 euro pour une entrée ; 18 à 25 euro pour le plat principal.
Big mention pour le granité pastèque fleur d’oranger, sous le parasol d’une terrasse au calme.

 

 

Si vous êtes SAAJ, l’atelier de la créatrice Maëlys à la rue Thorel (2e arrondissement) dont l’acronyme représente les premières lettres des personnes qui lui sont le plus chères au cœur, vaut le détour. 80% des créations SAAJ sont élaborées en France, dans 2 ateliers franciliens et une usine de l’Aube. La maille, les jeans et les souliers sont, quant à eux, portugais. Grâce à son e-shop, SAAJ livre aussi en Europe et en Suisse!

 

Les soirées parisiennes sont sur invitation uniquement accompagnées par le traiteur du Comptoir de Papa et sa cuisine greco-persane. La tapenade figue olive est une tuerie et se déguste chez l’Artiste connu sous le nom de @phdgkn à Neuilly-sur-Seine car il refuse catégoriquement d’exposer ses œuvres dans les galeries pignon sur rue dépassées par la transformation digitale ou sur son compte Instagram.

Puis avec le philosophe Moncef Semichi qui vient tout juste de créer son entreprise dans l’immobilier après une BIG carrière, débutée à Genève, où nous refaisons le monde jusqu’à l’aube.

 

Il est 5h car Babajoon m’a dit que le monde appartient à ceux qui se lèvent tôt.

 

Paris s’éveille sous le viaduc de Passy, sur le ponton de France Renaissance où les couples se relaient pour immortaliser leur Amour avec leur smartphone, vue sur la Tour Eiffel. Je me retourne pour regarder la Reine de Saba et je me dis comme elle est forte.

Elle a été et sera toujours aimée par son Homme, de manière inconditionnelle.