The best Koobideh in town

The best Koobideh in town

Allow me to present to you one of my favourite restaurant in Geneva. The first owner of the Hafez restaurant located in downtown Geneva was Persian. The name of the restaurant is a tribute to one of the most famous poet of Iran. His wife used to prepare the food with the same delicacy as Hafez’ poems. She passed on all her know-how to Mr. Jimi who took over the restaurant in 1993.

My Father – born and raised in Iran – never looks at the menu when we dine or have lunch at Hafez’s. He immediately orders the kebab Koobideh: two juicy skewers of minced lamb and grilled onions, served with Persian saffron rice and grilled tomatoes. The recipe of the Koobideh differs according to the region and must be perfectly cooked so that the meat remains juicy. Impossible to cook it at home (we tried several times on the barbecue, it was catastrophic). Hafez’s Koobideh is simply delicious. Personally, I like to taste it with Mast-O-Khiarw (yogurt, cucumber and mint served with Iranian sesame bread). The family’s habits also include ordering a salad Oliveh and the daily specials, served for lunch or dinner. The daily specials are traditional Iranian stews cooked with finesse and many spices. 

For dessert, enjoy a Bastani – saffron ice cream – and Faloodeh – a light ice cream made with vermicelli rice, lemon and rose water.

PS: Forgive me Mr Jimi for the time it took me to write a few words about your restaurant. Since 1993, you have welcomed my family and my friends with the same kindness and you have served us exquisite food. So thank you.

Rue Adrien-Lachenal 23, 1207 Geneva
Mon to Fri 11.30am-3pm, 7pm-midnight; Sat 7pm-midnight
+41227000081
Budget $$

CLOSE
CLOSE

Un kebab koobideh s’il vous plaît!

Un kebab koobideh s’il vous plaît!

Le premier propriétaire du restaurant Hafez, situé au centre-ville de Genève était iranien. D’où le nom qui rend hommage à l’un des  poètes les plus connus de la Perse. Sa femme officiait en cuisine, avec la même délicatesse que les poèmes de Hafez. Elle a transmis tout son savoir-faire à monsieur Jimi qui reprend l’établissement en 1993.

Mon père – né en Iran – ne regarde pas le menu lorsque nous dînons ou nous déjeunons chez Hafez. Il commande directement un Kebab Koobideh: une brochette traditionnelle iranienne cuite à la braise, généralement composée de viande hachée – souvent de l’agneau – assaisonnée de curcuma, oignon et ail. La recette diffère selon les régions d’où la difficulté de la reproduire, sans mentionner bien sûr une cuisson parfaite afin que la viande reste juteuse en bouche. Impossible à faire chez soi (nous avons essayé de nombreuses fois au barbecue, ce fut catastrophique). Le kebab Koobideh de Chez Hafez est succulent. Servi bien sûr avec du riz safrané auquel je vous invite à rajouter le beurre, la tomate grillée et l’oignon. Personnellement, j’aime le déguster avec du Mast-O-Khiarw (je sais c’est compliqué à prononcer), ce n’est autre que du yaourt, du concombre et de la menthe servis avec un pain iranien au sésame. 

Les habitudes culinaires familiales passent aussi par la salade Oliveh et les plats du jour, servis midi ou le soir. Ces plats du jour sont des ragoûts traditionnels iraniens d’une grande finesse, épicés sans être relevés. 

Pour le dessert, un Bastani, la glace au safran, et le Faloodeh, une glace légère à base de vermicelle de riz, de citron et d’eau de rose.

PS: Pardonnez-moi monsieur Jimi de ne pas avoir écrit quelques mots sur votre établissement qui depuis 1993 rend mon père si heureux.

Rue Adrien-Lachenal 23, 1207 Genève
Lun à ven 11h30-15h, 19h-minuit; sam 19h-minuit
+41227000081
Budget $$

FERMER
CLOSE