Rosa Morena

Rosa Morena

For many of us, the genesis of a love story comes down to few clicks, or more exactly a few thousand clicks, a lot (too many) of swipes left, a few swipes right, a number of dull dates. For Pilar and Sebastien, it took a little bit more for the stars to align.

It began twenty or thirty years ago, when Sebastien’s aunt decided to go live in Peru. She builds her life, gets married. The planets are moving. Sebastien is growing up, his aunt has children. Sebastien visits his aunt, meets the children and their nanny, Pilar. The planets are aligned.

A decade or so later, we meet Pilar and Sébastien at Rosa Morena. It could not have been otherwise anyway. Pilar is part of a lineage of chefs that dates all the way back to 1845. It is with her grandmother, at the age of 10, that Pilar learns the art of handling pans. And even if nothing predisposed Sebastien to open a restaurant, if this was not for a (reassuring) lack of passion for billing -an activity that the hazards of life had led him to practice in a professional manner-, it was written that Pilar would cook.

At Rosa Morena, we take you far away from Geneva. Away from these (too) many (so-called) trendy restaurants. Away from the (beloved) gratin de cardons. I have not tried all the dishes yet, but I took things seriously nonetheless: a Leche del Tigreto start with, a Lomo Saltado served with homemade fries and rice to follow, and because I do not shrink from any sacrifice required to provide exhaustive information, a chocolate mousse for dessert. (And also a Pisco Sour, because the next day was Pilates day, and one has to ensure good level of hydration before sport.) The mere fact I’m telling you about it says it all: it is fresh, simple and absolutely delicious!

If in 1845, and decades thereafter, Pilar’s ancestors were just “cooks,” It’s to a proper chef they have passed on their legacy. I guess you’ve got it, go to Rosa Morena!

Rue de la Fontenette, 21, 1227 Carouge
Tue to Fri lunch & diner; Sat from 5pm; Sun all day
+41225254949
Budget:  $$

CLOSE
CLOSE

Entre 2 fondues, un ceviche au Rosa Morena

Entre 2 fondues, un ceviche au Rosa Morena

Pour beaucoup d’entre nous, la genèse d’une rencontre se limite à quelques clics, ou plus exactement quelques milliers de clics, beaucoup (trop) de swipes left, quelques swipes right, un certain nombre de dates ennuyeux. Pour Pilar et Sébastien l’alignement des étoiles s’est avéré un peu plus complexe.

La synchronisation des planètes a commencé il y a vingt ou trente ans, lorsque la tante de Sébastien a décidé d’aller vivre au Pérou. Elle y construit sa vie, se marie. Les planètes se déplacent. Sébastien grandit, sa tante a des enfants. Sébastien rend visite à sa tante, rencontre les enfants et leur nounou, Pilar. Les planètes sont alignées.

Une grosse dizaine d’années plus tard c’est au Rosa Morena que l’on rencontre Pilar et Sébastien. Il ne pouvait en être autrement, de toute façon. Pilar s’inscrit dans une lignée de cheffes cuisinières qui remonte à 1845. C’est avec sa grand-mère, dès l’âge de 10 ans, que Pilar apprend l’art de manier les casseroles. Et quand bien même rien ne prédisposait Sébastien à ouvrir un restaurant, si ce n’est un manque (rassurant) de passion pour la facturation, activité que les hasards de la vie l’avait amenée à exercer de manière professionnelle,  quand bien même cela, Pilar se devait de cuisiner.

Au Rosa Morena, on vous emmène loin de Genève. Loin de ces (trop) nombreux restaurants (pseudo) branchés. Loin du gratin de cardons (adoré). Je n’y ai pas encore goûté tous les plats, mais y ai quand même mis un peu du mien : un Leche del Tigre, un Lomo Saltado servi avec des frites maison et du riz, et, parce je ne recule devant aucun sacrifice pour fournir une information exhaustive, une mousse au chocolat en dessert. (Et aussi un Pisco Sour, parce que le lendemain c’était jour de Pilates, et qu’avant le sport, il faut bien s’hydrater.) C.Q.F.D., parce que sinon je ne vous en parlerais pas, c’est frais, simple et absolument délicieux!

Si en 1845 l’on disait juste “cuisinière”, Pilar fait accéder la lignée de femmes qui la précède au rang de cheffe, alors allez au Rosa Morena!

Rue de la Fontenette, 21, 1227 Carouge
Mar à ven midi et soir; sam dès 17h; dim service non-stop
+41225254949
Budget:  $$

FERMER
CLOSE