I discovered Stevans through ‘When The Light is Gone,’ which I listened to repeatedly. What can I say, when you love something, you don’t keep count. The electro-pop duo has just released a new song, ‘Demons & Diamonds.’ Before Yvan Franel returns to the stage at the Casino Théâtre de Genève at the end of the month, he quickly answers my questions.

 

To whom does Stevans ask for a second chance in “Demons & Diamonds”?

I am asking the Planet for a second chance. I address it in this song. It’s important to note that we were amid the first lockdown, in April 2020, when this song was written and produced. Like many people, I wondered if we had reached this point as punishment for our excesses. I wondered if we would learn from our past mistakes… I believe we have the answer today… ahem. And I’m not the best ecological example either, I must admit, with my tours abroad ;))

 

What is Stevans’ viewpoint on the evolution of the music industry and the impact of technology on music creation and distribution?

Some artists excel, thanks to viral videos on YouTube or massive playlists on Spotify. Not us at all. The best results still come from concerts, the ‘live’ emotions we can bring to people, the connections… We have this rule: one concert must lead to another, and open another door.

Everyone has their thing, but of course, the digital world has changed the game, and today, an independent artist can become a star without going through a major label, and that’s GREAT.

 

How does Stevans manage to strike a balance between staying true to their artistic vision and meeting the expectations of their audience or the music industry?

We have a bunch of songs in stock waiting to be revealed to the public, but for that, we need to go to the studio, produce them, etc. So, we go with the flow of our feelings, without really thinking about our audience’s expectations because, in any case, it’s the way we perform the song that will have an impact. We are independent, so ultimately, no one is there to pressure us on a release schedule or a guideline. For instance, this latest track, ‘Demons & Diamonds,’ completely stands out artistically from the previous songs. We could have never done that if we were signed to a major label.

But just so you know, we’re working on an EP/album for spring-summer, and there will be a clearly defined artistic direction… stay tuned.

 

To conclude, here’s Stevans’ Proust questionnaire because good habits never die.

A place that resembles you
La promenade Saint Antoine, les Bastions, the old town in general

Your official canteen
Le vieux Carouge, best Fondue ever!

Dark or milk chocolate?
Dark of course!

Your cherished object
The copper glass of the Moscow mule… mmmmmmh

Your Robinson Crusoe book
Any book from Joel Dicker! (he auditioned to be Stevans’ drummer at the time!) What a talented writer, and from Geneva, why go elsewhere??

The movie you’ve seen 40,000 times
Back to the Future! Yes, sorry

An artist on your playlist
Young Gun Silver Fox, all albums are awesome.

An Instagrammer you follow with a strong belief
My Big Geneva…what else!?  😉

 

To witness the extent of Yvan Franel’s talent, join us for the 7th edition of Poupoupidou, Switzerland’s Biggest burlesque show between January 25th and 27th.

J’ai découvert Stevans à travers “When The Light is Gone” que j’ai écouté en boucle. Que voulez-vous, quand on aime, on ne compte pas. Le duo électro pop vient de sortir une nouvelle chanson “Demons & Diamonds”. Avant de retrouver Yvan Franel sur la scène du Casino Théâtre de Genève à la fin du mois, en deux temps trois mouvements, il répond à mes questions.

 

À qui Stevans demande une deuxième chance dans “Demons & Diamonds”?

Je demande une seconde chance à la Planète. Je m’adresse à elle dans cette chanson. Il faut savoir qu’on est en plein 1er confinement, avril 2020 au moment où cette chanson est écrite et produite. Comme beaucoup de gens je me suis demandé si on en était arrivé là par punition de nos excès. Je me suis demandé si on allait apprendre de nos erreurs passées… je crois qu’on a la réponse aujourd’hui… humhum. Et je ne suis pas le meilleur exemple écologique non plus, je dois être honnête, avec mes tournées à l’étranger ;))

 

Quel est le point de vue de Stevans sur l’évolution de l’industrie musicale et l’impact de la technologie sur la création et la distribution de la musique?

Certains artistes tirent leur épingle du jeux, grâce à des vidéo virales sur YouTube ou des playlist énormes sur Spotify. Nous pas du tout. Les meilleurs résultats se font encore et toujours par le biais des concerts, des émotions « live » qu’on peut apporter aux gens, des rencontres… On a cette règle: un concert doit en amener un autre, ouvrir une autre porte. 

A chacun son truc, mais bien entendu, le numérique a changé la donne et aujourd’hui, un artiste indépendant peut devenir une star sans passer par un major label, et c’est TANT MIEUX.

 

Comment Stevans parvient à trouver l’équilibre entre rester fidèle à sa vision artistique et répondre aux attentes de son public ou de l’industrie musicale?

Nous avons un paquet de chansons en stock qui ne demandent qu’à être révélées au grand public, mais pour ça il faut aller en studio, les produire etc, alors on se laisse aller au rythme de notre feeling, sans réellement penser aux attentes de notre public, car de toute manière, c’est la manière avec laquelle on défendra la chanson qui fera son effet. Nous sommes indépendants alors au final, personne n’est là pour nous mettre la pression sur un calendrier de sortie ou une ligne directrice. Par exemple, ce dernier titre, « demons & diamonds » sort complètement du lot artistique des dernières chansons, on n’aurait jamais pu faire ça si on était signé sur une Major.

Mais pour info, on travaille sur un EP/album pour le printemps-été, et là, il y aura une couleur artistique clairement définie… affaire à suivre. 

 

Pour conclure, voici son questionnaire de Proust car les bonnes habitudes ne se perdent jamais.

Un lieu qui te ressemble
La promenade Saint Antoine, les Bastions, la vieille ville en générale

Ta cantine officielle
Le vieux Carouge, best Fondue ever!

Chocolat noir ou au lait?
Noir pardi!

Ton objet fétiche
Le verre en cuivre du moscow mule… mmmmmmh

Ton livre de Robinson
Joel Dicker, n’importe lequel! (il a d’ailleurs fait une audition pour être batteur de Stevans à l’époque!)
Quel talent d’écrivain, et d’ici en plus, pourquoi aller voir ailleurs?

Le film que tu as vu 40’000 fois
Back to the Future! Oui, désolé

Un artiste sur ta playlist
Young Gun Silver Fox, tous les albums sont canons

Un instagramer que tu suis avec conviction
My Big Geneva…what else!?  😉

 

D’un coup de baguette magique, Yvan Franel se transformera entre le 25 et le 27 janvier prochain en archéologue pour nous présenter l’Histoire du Monde lors de la 7e édition de Poupoupidou, la plus Big revue burlesque de Suisse.