EN
|
From one layer to another

The Abandoned House i.e. la Maison Abandonnée (Villa Cameline) was built at the turn of the century in Nice; it was abandoned for 15 years before becoming a private exhibition space in 2003 thanks to the initiative of its current owners, Hélène and François Fincker.

Hélène and François Fincker have chosen to leave the Abandoned House as is and to promote different forms of current creation through pop-up exhibitions.

And for this last exhibition of the year, the Maison Abandonnée welcomes the visual artist and scenographer Amandine Maillot.

D’une épaisseur à l’autre i.e. from one layer to another, addresses the impermanence of things, and the beauty, fragility, and infinite potential that emerge from this condition. This state of instability questions the artist about the way in which we inhabit our lives, about the nature of the links we forge with our own bodies, with others, and with the world, like a desire to repair what has perhaps, one day, come undone.

The world is full of singular stories that intersect and become intertwined. Amandine Maillot sees the earth as an immense fabric of connections where everything is played out at every moment. A space of co-creation forms a precarious balance where every being, every atom of the living is a source of transformation. How can we take part in this fabric without losing the essence of both our individuality and these links and co-dependencies?

A must while you visit the French Riviera, before or after the Chagall Museum.

 

From September 16th until October 5th
Open Wednesday & Saturday from 3 pm to 6.30 pm 

Visual: Amandine maillot _ Sans titre, (porcelaines cassées) 2016, installation, mobilier, porcelaine, luminaire, dimension variable.
Maison Abandonnée [Villa Cameline] 2016 _ La Non -exposition

Think Big
1 – Extra-ordinary
My Big Geneva writes about EXTRA-ordinary people, places, and things to do.
2 – Free of charge
Subscribing to My Big Geneva newsletter doesn’t cost a penny.
3 – Curious
Just like George (what? You don't know who is Curious George?)
4 – Open-minded
But not so open that our brains fall out.
5 – No spam
My Big Geneva doesn’t harass your inbox, nor the feed of your social networks.

FR
|
D’une épaisseur à l’autre

La Maison Abandonnée (Villa Cameline) a été construite au début du siècle à Nice; elle fut abandonnée pendant une quinzaine d’années avant de devenir en 2003 un lieu d’exposition privé grâce à l’initiative de ses actuels propriétaires, Hélène et François Fincker. 

Hélène et François Fincker ont choisi de laisser la Maison Abandonnée telle quelle et de lui donner comme vocation de promouvoir différentes formes de la création actuelle au travers d’expositions éphémères.

Et pour cette dernière exposition de l’année, la Maison Abandonnée accueille l’artiste plasticienne et scénographe Amandine Maillot.
Son installation s’appelle « d’une épaisseur à l’autre » et aborde l’impermanence des choses, la beauté, la fragilité et le potentiel infini qui émergent de notre condition de vivant. Cet état d’instabilité questionne l’artiste sur la manière dont nous habitons nos existences, sur la nature du lien que nous tissons avec notre propre corps, avec l’autre et avec le monde, comme une volonté de réparer ce qui s’est peut-être, un jour, défait.

Le monde est plein de récits singuliers qui se croisent et s’entremêlent. Amandine Maillot se représente la terre comme une immense trame de connexions où tout se joue à chaque instant. Un espace de co-création formant un équilibre précaire où chaque être, chaque atome du vivant est une source de transformation. Comment prendre part à ce tissu sans perdre l’essence à la fois de notre individualité et de ces liens, de ces co-dépendances.

À voir absolument, avant ou après le Musée Chagall.

 

Du 16 septembre au 5 octobre 2023
Ouvert les mercredi et samedi de 15h à 18h30

Visuel: Amandine maillot _ Sans titre, (porcelaines cassées) 2016, installation, mobilier, porcelaine, luminaire, dimension variable.
Maison Abandonnée [Villa Cameline] 2016 _ La Non -exposition

Pensez Big
1 – EXTRA-ordinaire
My Big Geneva partage des lieux et des personnalités hors du commun.
2 – Gratuit
S’inscrire à la newsletter de My Big Geneva ne coûte rien.
3 – Curieux
Car ce n'est pas un vilain défaut.
4 – Ouvert d'Esprit
Clé fondamentale pour prétendre au bonheur.
5 – Garanti sans spam
My Big Geneva ne communique pas votre email à un tiers et surtout, My Big Geneva n’harcèle ni votre boîte mail, ni le feed de vos réseaux sociaux.